Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu is the martial art taught by all Bujinkan Dojos. It is comprised of elements from Nine separate classical martial art schools which have been brought together by the current soke Masaaki Hatsumi Sensei. It is a sogo bujutsu (総合武術 – Comprehensive martial art) which includes bōjutsu (techniques involving six foot staff), jōjutsu (techniques involving four foot staff), kenjutsu (sword techniques), battojutsu (drawing and cutting with a sword), sōjutsu (spearmanship) and naginatajutsu (techniques using a glaive) among other disciplines.The nine schools or ryuha are:

  • Togakure Ryu Ninpo
  • Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo Happo Biken
  • Koto Ryu Koppojutsu
  • Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo Happo Biken
  • Gyokko Ryu Koshijutsu
  • Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu
  • Kukishinden Happo Biken
  • Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu
  • Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu

Some of the schools are complete martial arts in their own right while others are more specialised and are meant to complement existing martial skills.

Instruction is given in both armed and unarmed combat combining both traditional waza and modern applications. The training is suitable for both men and women of all ages (although a minimum age limit of sixteen applies in most dojos).